Review: The Phoenix Candidate by Heidi Joy Tretheway

Posted 13 January, 2015 in Reviews / 3 Comments

Review: The Phoenix Candidate by Heidi Joy TrethewayTitle: The Phoenix Candidate
Series: Grace Colton #1
Author: Heidi Joy Tretheway
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: January 12, 2014
Amazon (affiliate link) • Goodreads

five-starsfive-starsfive-starsfive-starsfive-stars

Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review. Read more

About The Phoenix Candidate:

Fans of Scandal, House of Cards, and The Good Wife will love Grace Colton...

Congresswoman Grace Colton is the most famous woman in politics—and the loneliest—until a drawling, sexy stranger offers her one night, no strings and no regrets.

Grace wakes to an empty hotel room and a phone call: the dark horse for the 2016 presidential election, Senator Shep Conover, is considering her as his vice presidential running mate. But first, Grace must be vetted and coached by Shep’s political consultant, Jared Rankin, who already knows too many intimate details about her. He’s Mr. One-Night Stand.

Grace is torn: Play nice with Jared to join the senator’s ticket, or play hardball and back the slick frontrunner? Grace must decide where her loyalties lie and if she can trust Jared with her future—and her heart.

The Phoenix Candidate is an erotic romance set in the world of presidential election politics. Recommended for mature readers due to sharp dialogue, wickedly hot sex, and a few delicious taboos. This full-length novel is first in a series and can be read as a standalone.
Related Books: The Phoenix Campaign

Review:

Move over, Olitz, I have a new favorite political power couple. (And don’t give me grief for being Team Fitz, y’all. Mellie will be SO much better off without him and could have a kicks political career of her own as long as Portia’s character doesn’t mess things up too much.)

Anyway…

Loved, loved, loved this book. In general, I have no interest in politics. But I have found that I have a very deep interest in fictional politicians’ romantic lives. Does anyone else wonder if these books and shows are always so hot because it’s a politician’s job to be aggressive, and that carries over into the bedroom?

Wow, this is a really rambling (or should I say…bumbling?) review. This book just gave me all the feels.

Jared is my favorite kind of alpha – the kind that doesn’t really want his woman to submit. The kind that gets off more on the back and forth than the domination. I like guys like Jared because while he may be super bossy, he actually respects the quality in others.

I also love stories about people in positions of power giving it up behind closed doors.

What I really enjoyed was how as their “relationship” progressed, they learned to deal with their dynamics. At work, Jared says “jump” and Grace needs to say “how high?” without sacrificing the values most important to her. In the bedroom, Jared says “jump,” and Grace says, “I will…if I want to.” Transitioning from one environment to the other took an adjustment.

Finally, romance aside, I loved seeing Grace struggle with what kind of politician she wanted to be – the kind that won or the kind that stuck to her guns.

Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Heidi Joy Tretheway:

Heidi Joy is a sucker for campfires, craft cocktails, and steamy romance in books and real life. She sings along with musicals (badly), craves French carbs, and buys plane tickets the way some women buy shoes.

Her first career as a journalist took Heidi behind the scenes with politicians, rock stars, chefs, and detectives, all of whom inspire her stories. Heidi Joy is currently working on her eighth book from her home in Portland, Oregon. She adores hearing from readers at author.heidi@gmail.com.

WebsiteFacebookTwitterGoodreads

Also by Heidi Joy Tretheway:

     

Tags: , , , , ,

Buy the ARC Read and Review Tracker for Book Bloggers

3 Responses to “Review: The Phoenix Candidate by Heidi Joy Tretheway”

Leave a Reply