Review: Screwdrivered by Alice Clayton

Posted 14 October, 2014 in Reviews / 2 Comments

Review: Screwdrivered by Alice ClaytonTitle: Screwdrivered
Series: Cocktail #3
Author: Alice Clayton
Genres: Comedy, Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Release Date: September 2, 2014
Amazon (affiliate link) • Goodreads

four-starsfour-starsfour-starsfour-stars

About Screwdrivered:

Readers back for a third round of the bestselling Cocktail series will enjoy a madcap romantic comedy about bodice ripping and chest heaving, fiery passion and love everlasting. Plus a dash of paperwork filing and horseshi—wait, what?

By day, Viv Franklin designs software programs. By night, Vivian’s a secret romance-novel junkie who longs for a knight in shining armor, or a cowboy on a wild stallion, or a strapping firefighter to sweep her off her feet. And she gets to wear the bodice—don’t forget the bodice.

When a phone call brings news that she’s inherited a beautiful old home in Mendocino, California from a long-forgotten aunt, she moves her entire life across the country to embark on what she sees as a great, romance-novel-worthy adventure. But romance novels always have a twist, don’t they?

There’s a cowboy, one that ignites her loins. Because Cowboy Hank is totally loin-ignition worthy. But there’s also a librarian, Clark Barrow. And he calls her Vivian. Can tweed jackets and elbow patches compete with chaps and spurs? You bet your sweet cow pie.

In Screwdrivered, Alice Clayton pits Superman against Clark in a hilarious and hot battle that delights a swooning Viv/Vivian.

Also within this book, an answer to the question of the ages: Why ride a cowboy when you can ride a librarian?
Related Books: Rusty Nailed, Wallbanger (Audiobook), Nuts, Cream of the Crop, Roman Crazy, Buns

My Review:

Recommended for: Fans of Gilmore Girls and Bunheads, those who like to create romance scenes in their heads (starring themselves, of course), and banter bitches.

screwdrivered quote 2I’m not going to lie. At about 25% in, I almost gave this book up. I was a bit confused. I’ve never not loved an Alice Clayton book, which is why it’s 4 stars even though I ended up loving it. I’ve never made it 25% in to one of her books without practically peeing my pants from laughing. I was finding things funny, but more “that’s cute” funny than “cracking up in public” funny. So at the one-quarter mark, I was a little worried.

Thank God I didn’t stop.

I’d say this book is kind of different for her. It’s less Wallbanger and more Gilmore Girls. That, however, wasn’t a problem for me, because I loved Gilmore Girls. Like, really, really love Gilmore Girls.

Like, I’m watching it now and bawling because Rory is giving her Valedictorian speech about how much how awesome Lorelai is. I’ve done nothing but watch Gilmore Girls and read since it came to Netflix October 1.

Anyway, I think it was a mix between the small town atmosphere that totally reminded me of Stars Hollow, and the quirky sense of humor.

screwdrivered quote 3To prove my point, here are some similarities:

  • Viv was fiercely independent and trying to prove that to her family. Like Lorelai, who ran away from home at 17 with a newborn to prove she could raise a child well on her own and escape her parent’s tight control.
  • Viv and Clark fight exactly like Luke and Lorelai: ridiculously.
  • Viv drifting into her romance novel fantasies = “Reality has no place in our world.” – Gilmore Girls Season 4, Episode 1
  • Viv and Clark fighting about the keeping the house’s integrity during fix-ups = Lorelai fighting with Taylor Doose when renovating The Dragonfly Inn and he suggested keeping the historical front porch in tact by building a clear, lucite porch on top of it.

I could go on, but I’ll show some self-restraint.

screwdrivered quote 1At times, it also reminded me of Bunheads, which was created by the same woman, Amy Sherman-Palladino, and had dancing and Sutton Foster. I love dancing. I love Sutton Foster.

Anyway, the main character in Bunheads ended up in her own small town because of someone dying, basically, and deciding to stay. Much like Viv.

The point where it really started to get good for me was when my friends from Wallbanger and Rusty Nailed showed up. Oh, how I missed Simon Wallbanger. Actually, I think I missed Caroline and Mimi even more. I relate to Mimi on a deep level. I think I need to become a professional organizer, too.

OK, first of all, one thing I loved from the start was how Viv’s narration would switch into “corny romance novel mode.” So meta, lol. I tend to do the same thing. If I ever write a novel (and I’m hoping I do), it will most likely be made up of scenes that closely resemble my reality, that I made more interesting in my head instead of focusing on said reality.

I’m not gonna lie, had those things happened to me, I would have been convinced someone was writing an epic story for me, as well. I can only hope!

And as cliche as it was, I loved the moment when she realized that she was looking for love in all the wrong places. I mean, girlfriend, you don’t go looking for a hookup anywhere that smells like horse manure.

About Alice Clayton:

Alice Clayton worked in the cosmetics industry for over a decade before picking up a pen (read laptop).

She enjoys gardening but not weeding, baking but not cleaning up, and finally convinced her long-time boyfriend to marry her.

Now, about that Bernese Mountain dog

WebsiteFacebookTwitterGoodreads

Related Books:

      

Tags: , , , ,

Buy the ARC Read and Review Tracker for Book Bloggers

2 Responses to “Review: Screwdrivered by Alice Clayton”

Leave a Reply